Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO4.COM > Camping, Caravanning and Holidays

China recommendations
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
highlands

Ukraine 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Java BlackDiscovery 3
China recommendations

Does anyone have recommendations for hotels in Beijing/Tianjin and experience of travelling in China...sleeper train especially?

We are heading out late Jan to visit No.2 (this thread is not the one with East Asian bathroom connotations!) son while he is at Uni out there.

At the moment I think we'll spend 1st night 'Gold Lounge' room at the Fairmont Beijing and then a couple of nights in Tianjin at a good, but less expensive, hotel (but must have nice pool and sauna) for a few nights before heading off with him to the Harbin Ice Festival and onto Xian, where we'll leave him to explore further out to the west of China and we head back to Beijing.

I'm a veteran (so much I used to be invited to staff events) of the Caledonian Sleeper Inverness-Euston so have something to compare for the sleeper, but would be interested in people's experiences of the Chinese versions.
 Black 05 TDV6 HSE Auto
Grey 05 TDV6 HSE Auto (Gone)
54 TDV6 SE Man (killed by me Sad

Post #197510418th Aug 2018 11:50 am
IndusD4

Australia 2016 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 Base 7 Seat Auto Corris GreyDiscovery 4

Don't expect taxi drivers to speak any English, make sure you have a printout of Hotel name and address in Chinese characters with you. Or have someone with you who can translate for you.

Ron
 2016 D4 TDV6 Corris Grey
IIDTool BT 

Post #197511118th Aug 2018 12:15 pm
highlands

Once we're in Tianjin our son will be our translator! Smile
So just Beijing to tackle. I'm fairly used to working out in India, Africa, Russia, etc so pretty used to surviving. Wink
 Black 05 TDV6 HSE Auto

Post #197511218th Aug 2018 12:18 pm
dunton10

United Kingdom 2015 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 SE Tech Auto Corris GreyDiscovery 4