DISCO4.COM > General (D4)

D4 after detailing
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Rockpaperscissors

Wales 2010 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 XS Auto Corris GreyDiscovery 4
D4 after detailing

Hi

Are there any legal gurus on here that would be willing to give me some advice please.

My car went into a local Detailer, he had it for 3 days..long story short. He ended up blowing my Battery, alternator and in-line fuse £994 worth. I’ve spoken to his insurance company who couldn’t give two Censored as they only cover for valeting & detailing. I’ve asked for a refund of the detailing. My Indy that repaired it is writing a full statement as to how the damage occurred for me.

Would my next steps be a small claims court?

Any help is appreciated
 2010 D4 XS  
Post #206918018th Jul 2019 10:10 am
LIAMMCL

England 2009 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 HSE Auto Nara BronzeDiscovery 4

I'm no expert and couldn't possibly help with the legal side.... but could I make an uneducated guess that they tried to jump it with the wrong polarity?

Post #206918718th Jul 2019 10:20 am
Brian_DL13

United Kingdom 2014 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto Corris GreyDiscovery 4

IANAL but yes, small claims court would be what I'd do - but first send them a letter recorded delivery detailing the claim and say that unless they pay it within a reasonable time frame (14 days ?) you will be taking it to the SCC. And you shouldn't deal with his insurance company at all - your claim is on the detailer, not their insurer.

Post #206919218th Jul 2019 10:30 am
Narpy

2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 S Manual Cairns BlueDiscovery 3

Nightmare scenario. Big Cry
I hope you get it resolved quickly and amicably, nobody needs that stress in their life.
 Mods:
Front Fogs + Halos
FBH Remote Control
The 1st Ever RRS Modded Grill
Garmin Nuvi + D4 Surround + Reversing Camera.
D4 Steering Wheel.
Rear Boot Spoiler.
Twin Brake Lights.
Wing Mirror Indicator Repeaters.
Long Roof Rails
Make your own Narpy grill thread
I'm not scared, I'm outta here.