Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO4.COM > Technical (D3)

Engine out Body on Procedures
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
BrettKaz

Australia 2007 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3
Engine out Body on Procedures

I am in awe of the jobs that some of the forum contributors tackle and the amount of knowledge they have. When my mechanic said I needed to take out the engine but couldn’t tie one of his lifts I had no choice but to give it a go. Yes I know we could have taken the body off, engine out and body back on in half the time.
I haven’t done any mechanical work since the 80’s so I am a total novice. I read thru Flyboy47’s post on how to do this and I was still unsure on how to actually remove all the stuff he had removed.
There was a lot of staring at the car and swearing … and once while under the car, when nobody was looking, I had a little cry.
I have been a bit of a sponge on this site so I am pleased to actually make a contribution for a change. I’m sure that if you can be bothered reading these procedures I am sure I have done some things in a ‘cack handed’ and naive manner – but the engine is out. Again these procedures have been written with a total novice in mind. I note timescales as I remember them – none of them are intended to be macho – It actually took much longer than noted below – simply as I say – there was a lot of staring at the car wondering where to go next.

Happy for people to correct and improve these.

Tools
½” and ¼” sockets
- Multi-(ball) joint (as opposed to a uni-joint) 2x ½” (to be used occasionally ganged) and ¼ “ (these are a similar principle to the ball end of a hex key)
- ½” to ¼” converter
- 3ft ½” extension bar plus assortment of other sizes
- ½” breaker bar
Spanners (ratchet are handy)
Fan Spanner 32mm (can also remove oil filter with additional adjustable spanner overlaid on different axis ... not recommended but in a pinch)
Torx and inverse torx into ¼” socket