DISCO4.COM > Technical (D3)

Newbie - Just some clarification
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
ian l

2007 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Unknown ColourDiscovery 3
Newbie - Just some clarification

Hi all - Newbie owner of a 07 HSE

I have done my best to read all the advice and solutions on this site and just want to check I am going down the right path. Forgive me for expanding abreviations but I know that as a newbie I had to look them up Very Happy ) - also mention BAS as they seem to be favorite on here but want to help others as oppose to just ring them.

Had a 07 HSE TDV6 for about 2 months now - 67k on clock - just looking for the latest advice on the following:

Presume it is a EuroIV engine - how do I check?

Not sure what to do about EGR (Exhaust Gas Recirculation) - fully understand the concept, why they fail and that BAS seems to be the expert at solving these problems but not sure if I can blank, remove etc . Not an issue at moment but want to know my options.

I have a FBH (Fuel Burning Heater) - still not sure if it is for me (keep me warm) or for the engine? It has kicked in once - smoke from under the radiator was worrying. Do I need to look out for anything with it?

Re-mapping? Back to BAS... My other car is an XJR Jag - not expecting that sort of performance but feel the Disco could be more responsive - and would like better MPG. Do not want to "fool" the system - presume BAS have a solution to this? will I get better economy - currently getting 25mpg with VPower.

Now the one I have not seen on the forum - last week I pulled off after 6 hours parked - EPB (Electric Park Brake?) - was applied but I released it before pulling off. Moved about a foot and rear left nearside wheel seemed to lock up - pulled right down on suspension. Reversed back a foot - all fine; pulled away again - same happened - operated suspension. EPB a few time - pulled away - no problem. Same happened a few days later - driving in town - same wheel grabbed again. Any Ideas???