Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO4.COM > General (D4)

Sale or Return - Issues
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Budweiser

2010 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 HSE Auto Santorini BlackDiscovery 4
Sale or Return - Issues

I have been offered a SOR deal by a Main Dealer on my D4 HSE. I have never done this before but it should give me a better return than the cash sale price (Approx. £1000/1500 more).

Any thoughts on this? Is it a good deal or a possible nightmare?

Thanks Thumbs Up

Post #7421516th Jan 2011 2:12 pm
DrLex

Iceland 

Personally, I wouldn't touch it - who's liable if the car is damaged or stolen? Breaks down on a test drive- will you be paying the bill to fix it? Car sold & the dealer goes into admin.- will you get your money? Speeding ticket on a test drive?
 Time flies like an arrow; fruit flies like a banana

Member of Club Med Sucks 

Post #7421586th Jan 2011 2:17 pm
character

United Kingdom 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 S Auto Alaska WhiteDiscovery 3

very common for corporate sized groups to offer this service in order to protect their own cashflow but normally associated with high end value stock where its the owner contacting the dealership to ask if they offer it.

I would recon they have someone in mind for it or that you expectations on value are greater than would leave a comfortable margin for the dealership, hence drawing you in on a "sale or return" gimmick then of course claiming to have someone on it but at a slightly lower figure to make it easier to make a reasonable margin...... it will be one of these type of conversation: