DISCO4.COM > General

SATNAV
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
DirtyDisco

2012 Discovery 4 TDV6 HSE Auto Alaska WhiteDiscovery 4
SATNAV

Hello All

I wonder what your opinion is of the D3 satnav system. My dealer tells me it is very good. I have been using satnav for 5 years or so in the form of a Garmin unit that cost a fortune. Is very slow to calculate routes and gather its whereabouts. It is however very, very good in terms of choosing a suitable route. It allows me to zoom out as I please and select the level of detail. This is very useful if you have no map. It changes automatically from day to night modes, etc, etc. I recently bought a road angel when at the festival of speed... it is very poor. It does none of the above although it does have full postcode search and is very fast to calculate routes (usually bad ones) and acquire satellites.

I would like to think that the D3 system is as good as it gets.

I would love to hear your opinions.

Cheers
 Serial Depreciation Victim

07 D3 TDV6 HSE. Side Steps. Privacy. TV. Stornoway + Alpaca. 

Post #10481226th Nov 2006 8:33 pm
d3matt

United Kingdom 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Zermatt SilverDiscovery 3

The D3 system is pretty good. On the premium version you get TMC (traffic info) and voice control. It can also store loads of destinations (at least 100 from memory) and you can store voice tags with these, so they can be recalled easily.
However, I've been used to SmartNav (by Traffic Master) and I must admit that all CD/DVD based sat nav systems seem inferior when you're used to this. SmartNav is by far the best and the only one that routes you around congestion properly. TMC on the LR system doesn't even come close to how SmartNav does performs.
This is why I've just fitted it in my D3, even though I've got the Premium LR sat nav. Now I have the best of both worlds. I now use SmartNav for the sat nav and I have the backup of the colour mapping on the LR screen.