Advertise on DISCO4.COM
Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO4.COM > General

Does this make Sense?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
steve_d3

Does this make Sense?

I have read this post somewhere on the www. Does this guy know how to drive a D3 or is he talking C**p? since I am fairly new to the D3, would like to invite comments from you experienced hands. he seems to be saying you have to drive it just below 50 k/h to keep the height above normal???? Shocked

Quote:
I have taken the Disco 3 into very rough terrain in Africa. A significant problem, however, is the fact that the off-road height automatically resets to normal height when touching 50kms / hr (what is the trigger point in miles for UK spec vehicles?). The problem is that in many instances, off-road terrain simply has a high "middle man" and one can drive 60, 70 or even 80 km/hr. NOT with the dear Discovery 3, you have to stay below 50 kms / hr (and a chime that constantly irritates you due to being above 40kms / hr but below the magic 50kms/hr). Failing which the car simply lowers resulting in much damage underneath as rocks, gravel, sand etc do their thing. And beware lifting the car back up to off road level more than a hand full of times, the system shuts down, citing "over heating". Land Rover in SA have not commented on my problems. My local dealer says - "thats the way the car is, sorrry for u dear Sir". What a pity, it simply renders the car quite useless for fairly simple off road conditions.

Post #10241316th Nov 2006 10:43 pm
d3matt

United Kingdom 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Zermatt SilverDiscovery 3

Yes, he's correct. At any speed above 40mph, the D3 will drop down to normal height.
 Matt  
Post #10241816th Nov 2006 10:59 pm
View user's profile Send private message View poster's gallery Send e-mail Reply with quote
10forcash

United Kingdom 2007 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Manual Zermatt SilverDiscovery 3